Century of Progress International Exposition - Chicago 1933

A century of progress

May 27 - November 12, 1933 and June 1 - October 31, 1934


Back - List of Pavilions

General Motors

General Motors at the Exhibition Expo Chicago 1933

© Kaufmann & Fabry Co

The General Motors Company displays the cars that are made in their various factories across the country, but also refrigerators and other motorized appliances, and offers a variety of animations in their pavilion which is located east of Leif Eriksen Drive opposite the 31st Street entrance.


The company was the first to be interested in exhibiting at the World's Fair, and so General Motors built a large rectangular building, 150 metres long and 100 metres wide, which was completed a month before the opening day.

Through the street-side entrance, the visitor enters a large hall that leads to a balcony overlooking an assembly plant where visitors can watch the actual manufacture of the car. This "factory" is 130 metres long and 30 metres wide, and the viewing platform runs the full length.


To the north and south of the entrance hall are located exhibition areas, and above the entrance stands a 55-metre tower. Part of the lower level of the building is dedicated to truck displays and other exhibitions.

A conference room with a stage is located in another section of this floor.

The main products on display in the main hall include Cadillac, La Salle, Pontiac, Chevrolet, Oldsmobile and Buick automobiles as well as Fisher organizations, and General Motors trucks.

The structure is a steel frame with an exterior cladding of sheet metal and wall panels. The window frames are also steel. The colours of the many walls are accentuated by special lighting at night to present an exotic panorama of colour.

©Official Guide Book 1933-1934

Retour - Liste Pavillons

General Motors


General Motors à l'exposition de Chicago 1933

© Kaufmann & Fabry Co

La société General Motors présente les voitures qui sont faites dans ses diverses usines à travers le pays, mais aussi les réfrigérateurs et autres appareils à moteur, et propose des animations diversifiées dans leur pavillon qui est situé à l'est de Leif Eriksen Drive face à l'entrée de la 31ème rue.


La société a été la première entreprise intéressée pour se présenter à l'exposition universelle, et ainsi General Motors construisit un grand bâtiment rectangulaire, 150 mètres de long sur 100 mètres de large, qui a été achevé un mois avant le jour d'ouverture.

Par l'entrée côté rue, le visiteur pénètre dans un grand hall qui mène à un balcon donnant sur une usine d'assemblage où les visiteurs peuvent regarder la fabrication proprement dite de l'automobile. Cette "usine" est longue de 130 mètres et large de 30 mètres, et la plate-forme d'observation s'étend sur toute la longueur.


Au nord et au sud du hall d'entrée sont localisés des espaces d'exposition, et au-dessus de l'entrée se dresse une tour de 55 mètres. Une partie du niveau inférieur du bâtiment est consacrée à des présentations sur les camions et d'autres expositions.

Une salle de conférence avec une scène est située dans une autre section de cet étage.

Parmi les principaux produits qui sont présentés dans le hall principal, ce sont les automobiles Cadillac, La Salle, Pontiac, Chevrolet, Oldsmobile et Buick ainsi que les organismes Fisher, il y a aussi des camions de General Motors.

La structure est une charpente en acier avec un revêtement extérieur en tôle et panneaux muraux. Les châssis de la fenêtre sont également en acier. Les couleurs des nombreux murs sont accentuées par un éclairage spécial, la nuit tombée, afin de présenter un panorama exotique de couleur.

Article rédigé à partir des livres Official Guide Book 1933-1934