Century of Progress International Exposition - Chicago 1933

A century of progress

May 27 - November 12, 1933 and June 1 - October 31, 1934


Back - List of Pavilions

Adler Planetarium

Adler Planetarium at the Exhibition Chicago 1933

© Kaufmann & Fabry Co

The universe, in all its grandeur, is reviewed under the Adler Planetarium Dome and Astronomical Museum. Located in the "A Century of Progress" exhibit on the northern tip of the North Island, this magnificent structure, built of Minnesota granite, is the only one of its kind in the world.

Donated to the City of Chicago in May 1930 by Max Adler, one of the financiers of A Century of Progress, this dodecagonal building with its bronze medallion outer corners with plaques of the twelve signs of the Zodiac proposes to "promote the progress of science; to guide to the understanding of the majesty of the heavens; and to emphasize that beneath the celestial firmament there is order, independence and unity", according to its statement of purpose on a plaque at the entrance to the building.

After entering the main hall, the visitor sees above him a dome-shaped, white ceiling almost 30 metres in diameter; the ceiling, which only a moment before looked like a bare white vault, now depicts a deep blue sky, then the blue sky is dotted with twinkling stars and a voice explains all the wonders of the heavens.

Capable of the most delicate adjustments, the mechanism can show viewers what the sky was like when Christ walked this earth, what Galileo saw when he studied the heavens, or how the North Star will look in a thousand years. The operator can show them how the stars appear in the tropics, show constellations they have never seen before, or locate the viewers at the two poles where the celestial bodies simply swing in circles.


More than 4500 planets, planetoids and stars are seen in the journey on their orbits. The dimly lit sky resembles a clear night sky, and moments later, the viewer loses his or her bearings, forgets the enclosure and becomes completely immersed in the clear sky.

The building, costing over $1,000,000, contains an astronomical museum and a library. Dr. Philip Fox, former professor of astronomy at Northwestern University, is the technical director.

©Official Guide Book 1933-1934

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Planétarium Adler


Planétarium Adler à l'exposition de Chicago 1933

© Kaufmann & Fabry Co

L'univers, dans toute sa grandeur, est passé en revue sous le dôme du planétarium Adler et le Musée Astronomique. Situé dans l'enceinte de l'exposition "un siècle de progrès" sur la pointe septentrionale de l'île du nord, cette magnifique structure, construite en granit du Minnesota, est la seule de son genre au monde.

Donné à la ville de Chicago en mai 1930, par Max Adler, l'un des financiers d'un siècle de progrès, ce bâtiment en forme dodécagonale avec ses coins extérieurs en médaillon de bronze avec des plaques des douze signes du Zodiaque propose de «promouvoir le progrès de la science; pour guider à la compréhension de la majesté des cieux; et pour souligner que sous le firmament céleste il y a un ordre, l'indépendance et l'unité », conformément à sa déclaration d'intention énoncée sur une plaque à l'entrée de l'édifice.

Après être entré dans la salle principale, le visiteur voit au-dessus de lui une forme de dôme, plafond blanc de presque 30mètres de diamètre; le plafond, que seul un moment avant ressemblait à une voûte nue blanche, représente maintenant un ciel bleu profond, puis, le ciel bleu est parsemé d'étoiles scintillantes et une voix explique toutes les merveilles des cieux.

Capable des ajustements les plus délicats, le mécanisme permet de montrer aux spectateurs comment le ciel était quand le Christ a marché sur cette terre, ce que Galilée a vu quand il a étudié les cieux, ou comment l'étoile polaire sera dans un millier d'années. L'opérateur peut leur montrer comment les étoiles apparaissent dans les tropiques, montrent constellations qu'ils n'ont jamais vu avant, ou les situer les spectateurs aux deux pôles où les corps célestes simplement balancent dans les cercles.


Plus de 4500 planètes, planétoïdes et les étoiles sont vus dans le voyage sur leurs orbites. Le ciel faiblement éclairé ressemble au ciel d'une une nuit claire, et quelques instants plus tard, le spectateur perd ces repères, oublie l'enceinte et s'immerge complètement dans ce ciel clair.

Le bâtiment, coûta plus de $ 1,000,000, contient un musée astronomique et une bibliothèque. Dr Philip Fox, ancien professeur d'astronomie Université Northwestern, est le directeur technique.

Article rédigé à partir des livres Official Guide Book 1933-1934