Back - List of Pavilions

Horticultural Building -

Horticultural Building at the Exhibition Expo Chicago 1933
© Kaufmann & Fabry Co

Chicago's leadership in horticulture and floriculture is demonstrated in a beautiful way at the "A Century of Progress" exhibition. Beautiful flowers and lush plants, too rare or too difficult to grow for commercial purposes, are displayed either in the main exhibition hall or in part of the 52 gardens that adjoin the large 30,000 square meter horticultural building.

Landscape architects from the United States have collaborated to make the exhibition a flower paradise. Twenty-one nationally significant flower exhibits are on display throughout the summer.


Displayed in the outdoor horticultural section is a diverse assortment of beautiful gardens, each featuring some type of design and flower combination from which visitors can learn practical lessons that will be useful in their own gardens.


The garden at Abraham Lincoln's home in Indiana, featuring the trees, shrubs and wildflowers with which the martyred president was familiar as a child, has been recreated by the Men's Garden Club of Fort Wayne, Indiana. Plants maintained by Chicago's Men's Club members are changed and cultivated continuously throughout the exhibition period.


Since the opening of "A Century of Progress" occurs when irises and peonies are in bloom, these two flowers will be featured during this period. They are followed by national exhibitions of roses, delphiniums, perennials, gladioli, dahlias and chrysanthemums.

©Official Guide Book 1933-1934

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Palais de l'Horticulture


Palais de l'Horticulture à l'exposition de Chicago 1933

© Kaufmann & Fabry Co

Le leadership de Chicago en horticulture et la floriculture est démontrés d'une belle manière à l'exposition "Un siècle de progrès". De belles fleurs et des plantes luxuriantes, trop rares ou trop difficiles à cultiver à des fins commerciales, sont exposées soit dans le hall principal de l'exposition soit dans une partie des 52 jardins qui jouxtent le grand bâtiment horticole bénéficiant d'une superficie de 30,000 mètres carrés.

Les architectes paysagistes des Etats-Unis ont collaboré à faire de l'exposition un paradis de fleurs. Vingt et une expositions de fleurs d'importance nationale sont présentées pendant tout l'été.


Présenté dans la section horticole extérieure, on trouve un assortiment varié de jardins de toute beauté, chacun présentant un certain type de conception et de combinaison de fleurs à partir duquel les visiteurs peuvent apprendre des leçons pratiques qui leur seront utiles dans leurs propres jardins.


Le jardin de la maison d'Abraham Lincoln en Indiana, montre les arbres, arbustes et fleurs sauvages avec lesquelles le président martyr était familier dans son enfance, il a été reconstitué par "Men's Garden Club of Fort Wayne, Indiana". Les plantes entretenues par les membres "Chicago's Men's club " sont changées et cultivées en permanence pendant toute la période de l'exposition.


Comme l'ouverture de "Un siècle de progrès" survient au moment où les iris et les pivoines sont en fleur, ces deux fleurs seront à l'honneur durant cette période. Elles sont suivies par des expositions nationales de roses, delphiniums, vivaces, glaïeuls, dahlias et les chrysanthèmes.

Article rédigé à partir des livres Official Guide Book 1933-1934