Century of Progress International Exposition - Chicago 1933

A century of progress

May 27 - November 12, 1933 and June 1 - October 31, 1934


Back - List of Pavilions

Agricultural Building

Agricultural Building at the Exhibition Expo Chicago 1933

© Kaufmann & Fabry Co

Different in nature from a traditional agricultural exhibition in the sense that this exhibition appeals to both city and country dwellers, the nation's basic industry is not forgotten either and all this is presented in the huge agricultural building, just south of the Adler Planetarium. The history of agriculture and its industries is presented here, which is new for a world exhibition.

The building is a steel-framed structure 200 metres long, 30 metres wide and 13 metres high, with a modern design and artificial lighting and ventilation. The terraces, which run the length of the western side of the building, are designed as outdoor lounges and provide the perfect place to view the lagoon and the mainland.

An unusually shaped corridor runs the length of the building and the height of the structure inside, from which the many exhibits are presented on both sides. The displays relate almost exclusively to the preparation and distribution of food, the methods that have completely revolutionised the food industry over the past century.

Livestock producers, stocking companies, packers, sausage makers, meat retailers and affiliated groups have come together to present a realistic and interesting picture of the progress made in livestock and meat production. From the great ranches of the West to the manufacturing plants of Chicago, the visitor can understand the meat processing chain. No brand names or trademarks are featured throughout this exhibition, which represents the entire industry.

In a log cabin at one end of the room, figures representing "Aunt Jemima" making pancakes.

©Official Guide Book 1933-1934

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Palais de l'Agriculture


Palais de l'Agriculture à l'exposition de Chicago 1933

© Kaufmann & Fabry Co

D'une nature différente par rapport à une traditionnelle exposition agricole au sens où cette exposition interpelle aussi bien les habitants de la ville que les gens de la campagne, l'industrie de base de la nation n'est pas oubliée non plus et tout ceci est présenté dans l'immense bâtiment agricole, juste au sud du Planétarium Adler . On y présente l'histoire de l'agriculture et de ses industries ce qui est nouveau pour une exposition universelle.

Le bâtiment est une structure à ossature d'acier de 200 mètres de long, 30 mètres de largeur et 13 mètres de haut, d'un design moderne, et éclairée et ventilée artificiellement. Aménagées en salons extérieurs, les terrasses qui s'étendent sur toute la longueur du côté ouest du bâtiment offrent l'endroit parfait pour admirer le lagon et le continent.

Un corridor de forme inhabituelle court à l'intérieur sur toute la longueur du bâtiment et sur toute la hauteur de la structure, à partir de laquelle les nombreuses expositions sont présentées sur les deux côtés. Les présentations se rapportent presque exclusivement à la préparation et la distribution d'aliments, les méthodes qui ont entièrement révolutionné l'industrie alimentaire au cours du siècle passé.

Les producteurs de bétail , les sociétés de stockage, les emballeurs, les fabricants de saucisses, les détaillants de viande et de groupes affiliés se sont regroupés pour présenter une image réaliste et intéressante sur les progrès réalisés dans la production de bétail et de viande. Depuis les grands ranches de l'ouest jusqu'aux usines de fabrication de Chicago, le visiteur peut comprendre la chaine de traitement de la viande. Aucune marque de commerce ou aucun nom de marque ne sont présentés à travers cette exposition qui représente l'ensemble du secteur.

Dans une cabane en rondins à une extrémité de la pièce, des personnages représentant "Tante Jemima" faisant des crêpes.

Article rédigé à partir des livres Official Guide Book 1933-1934