Back - List of Pavilions

Hall of Religion - Expo Chicago 1933

Hall of Religion at the Exhibition Expo Chicago 1933
© Kaufmann & Fabry Co

Modern in design, though ecclesiastical in atmosphere, the Hall of Religion within the exhibition is highly significant of the efforts made to present a well-balanced programme.

Believing that progress is impossible without religion, a committee was appointed by Rufus C. Dawes, president of the Exposition, five years ago to construct a religious display that would be in harmony with the theme of a century of Progress.

The Hall of Religion, located just southeast of the General Exhibits group, is the result.
This large, imposing building, with its beautiful stained glass windows, pipe organ, assembly rooms, small and many other interesting features, presents an expression of courtesy and cooperation between the various religions rather than competition.

The spirit of peace is the spirit of the hall, and the spirit of belief is submerged in human service.
The building was built with contributions from some Protestant, Jewish and other denominations. It contains a chapel for meditation and a meeting room with a capacity of about 500 seats for small religious conferences.

There are many posters presenting religious organisations.
The walls of the rotunda are covered with decorative texts of the words of such great religious leaders as Jesus, Buddha and Isaiah.

Priceless religious antiquities, including some of the earliest printed Bibles, are displayed in another part of the building.

The display of some stained glass windows, including the most prominent of those recently forged by Charles Connick of Boston for the Presbyterian Church in downtown Pittsburgh, is more than attractive.

Among the most prominent churches participating in the exhibition are Jewish, Lutheran, Methodist, Presbyterian, Episcopalian, Baptist and Christian Scientist. The Christian Science Monitor, the church's daily newspaper, has its own building nearby.

©Official Guide Book 1933-1934

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Palais de la Religion


Palais de la Religion à l'exposition de Chicago 1933

© Kaufmann & Fabry Co

Moderne dans sa conception, bien qu'ecclésiastiques dans l'atmosphère, le Hall de la religion au sein de l'exposition est très significatif des efforts réalisés pour présenter un programme bien équilibré.

Estimant que le progrès est impossible sans la religion, un comité a été nommé par Rufus C. Dawes, président de l'Exposition, il y a cinq ans pour construire un affichage religieux qui serait en harmonie avec le thème d'un siècle du Progrès.

Le Hall de la Religion, situé juste au sud-est du groupe Expositions Général en est le résultat.
Ce grand bâtiment imposant, avec ses beaux vitraux, un orgue à tuyaux, des salles de montage, de petites et nombreuses autres caractéristiques intéressantes, présente une expression de courtoisie et de coopération entre les diverses religions plutôt que de la concurrence.

L'esprit de la paix est l'esprit de la salle, et l'esprit de croyance est submergée dans le service humain.
Le bâtiment a été construit grâce aux cotisations de certaines confessions protestantes, juives et autres. Il contient une chapelle pour la méditation et une salle de réunion avec une capacité d'environ 500 places pour les petites conférences religieuses.

Il y a de nombreuses affiches présentant des organisations religieuses.
Les murs de la rotonde sont recouverts de textes décoratifs Paroles de ces grands chefs religieux comme Jésus, Bouddha et Isaïe.

Des antiquités religieuses de valeur inestimable, dont quelques-unes des premières bibles imprimées, sont présentées dans une autre partie du bâtiment.

L'affichage de certains vitraux, dont le plus éminent de ceux qui sont récemment forgé par Charles Connick de Boston pour l'Eglise presbytérienne dans le centre-ville de Pittsburgh, est plus que attrayant.

Parmi les églises les plus éminentes participant à l'exposition sont les juifs, les luthériens, méthodistes, presbytériens, épiscopaliens, baptistes et les scientistes chrétiens. Le Christian Science Monitor, journal quotidien de l'église, a un bâtiment propre à proximité.

Article rédigé à partir des livres Official Guide Book 1933-1934