Century of Progress International Exposition - Chicago 1933

A century of progress

May 27 - November 12, 1933 and June 1 - October 31, 1934


Back - List of Pavilions

Hall of Science

Hall of Science at the Exhibition Expo Chicago 1933

© Kaufmann & Fabry Co

With the achievements of science being the main theme of "A Century of Progress", it is fitting that the Temple of Science should be the core of the Exhibition. Located just south of the Administration Building with its 176-foot tower, complete with chimes, pointing skyward, the structure is one of the most impressive in the entire exhibition.

This massive building, 700 by 400 feet, is U-shaped, and joins on three sides a courtyard capable of seating 80,000 people. The open end faces the magnificent lagoon, Northerly Island and Lake Michigan beyond. The overall effect of this temple of science is one of order and above all massiveness, with the carillon tower on the southwest corner being one of its many assets.

On the ground floor and near the main entrance at the north end of the Hall of Science is a magnificent display of medicines and medical specialities. The breadth and comprehensiveness of the exhibition inspires and provokes a view of increased respect for the progress made in this phase of medical science.

The northern end of the building is reached by a gently sloping ramp which leads to a large circular terrace, the southern boundary of which is a row of powerful pylons which rise more than 50 feet above the terrace. In the centre of this upper terrace is a circular shaft, the base of which forms the ground floor courtyard, part of which is occupied by the drug display.

In the centre of this courtyard is a fountain surrounded by ponds and flower gardens, while to the west is the section housing the basic science exhibition. On the main floor is a large room of the following proportions, 260 feet long, 60 feet wide and 57 feet high. The inscriptions on the walls pay tribute to the torchbearers of science and list the major achievements.

Another large part of the Hall of Science is devoted to medical exhibits. Progress in the cause, detection, treatment and prevention of human and animal diseases are represented by numerous posters.

The Institut Pasteur in Paris and the Koch Institute in Berlin show exhibitions of historical and fundamental importance. The Deutsches Museum presents exhibits from Dresden of human physiology and constitution, while London's Wellcome Museum shows advances in British surgery and medicine. The American associations are well represented with displays that present the lines of progress in medicine. Then there is the "transparent man" (or glass man) which shows the functions of the human body parts.

Other articles are devoted to biology, chemistry, geology, mathematics and physics. The novel of gas and oil is told; refraction of light by prisms and lenses, coloured effects produced in different ways, and significant spectra are displayed, mechanical mathematics, is demonstrated, and many other interesting elements of everyday life, unimportant to the neophyte, are represented in an interesting way.

The south-west corner which houses the carillon is a sight to behold at night when thousands of neon tubes hidden in the walls are lit. The hours of the day are announced by the tower's chimes.

©Official Guide Book 1933-1934

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Palais des Sciences


Palais des Sciences à l'exposition de Chicago 1933

© Kaufmann & Fabry Co

Les réalisations de la science constitue le thème principal d' "Un siècle de progrès", il est normal que le Temple de la science devait être le noyau de l'Exposition. Situé juste au sud du bâtiment de l'administration avec sa tour de 176 pieds, équipé d'un carillon, pointant vers le ciel, la structure est l'une des plus impressionnantes de l'ensemble de l'exposition.

Ce bâtiment massif, 700 par 400 pieds, est en forme de U, et qui joint sur trois côtés une cour capable d'accueillir 80.000 personnes. L'extrémité ouverte face au magnifique lagon, Northerly Island et le lac Michigan au-delà. L'effet général de ce temple de la science est un effet d'ordre et surtout massif, avec la tour de carillon sur le coin sud-ouest est l'un de ses nombreux atouts.

Au rez de chaussée et à proximité de l'entrée principale de l'extrémité nord du Hall de la Science on peut voir une exposition magnifique de médicaments et spécialités médicales. L'ampleur et l'exhaustivité de l'exposition inspire et provoque une vue d'un respect accru des progrès accomplis dans cette phase de la science médicale.

L'extrémité nord du bâtiment est accessible par une rampe en pente douce qui mène à une grande terrasse circulaire dont la limite sud est une rangée de pylônes puissants qui s'élèvent à plus de 50 pieds au-dessus de la terrasse. Au centre de cette terrasse supérieure se trouve un puits circulaire dont la base forme la cour du rez de chaussée, dont une partie est occupée par l'exposition des drogues.

Au centre de cette cour se trouve une fontaine entourée de bassins et de jardins de fleurs, tandis qu'à l'ouest se situe la section qui abrite l'exposition des sciences de base. À l'étage principal se trouve une grande salle aux proportions suivantes, 260 pieds de longueur, 60 pieds de largeur et 57 pieds de hauteur. Les inscriptions sur les murs rendent hommage aux porte-flambeaux de la science et liste les principales grandes réalisations.

Une autre grande partie de la Hall des Sciences est consacrée à des expositions médicales. Progrès réalisés dans la cause, la détection, le traitement et la prévention des maladies humaines et animales sont représentées par de nombreuses affiches.

L'institut Pasteur de Paris et l'Institut Koch de Berlin montrent des expositions d'importance historique et fondamentales. Le Deutsches Museum présente des expositions de Dresde de la physiologie humaine et de la constitution, tandis que Londres Wellcome Museum montre les progrès réalisés dans la chirurgie et la médecine britannique. Les associations américaines sont bien représentés avec des écrans qui présentent les lignes de progrès de la médecine. Ensuite, il ya «l'homme transparent»(ou homme de verre) qui montre les fonctions des parties du corps humain.

D'autres articles sont consacrés à la biologie, la chimie, la géologie, les mathématiques et la physique. Le roman de gaz et de pétrole est dit; réfraction de la lumière par des prismes et des lentilles, des effets colorés produit de différentes manières, et les spectres significatifs sont affichés, les mathématiques mécanique, est démontrée, et beaucoup d'autres éléments intéressants de la vie quotidienne, sans importance pour le néophyte, sont représentés d'une manière intéressante.

L'angle sud-ouest qui abrite le carillon est un spectacle de toute beauté, la nuit où des milliers de tubes néon cachés dans les murs sont allumés. Les heures du jour sont annoncés par le carillon de la tour.

Article rédigé à partir des livres Official Guide Book 1933-1934