International Exhibition of Barcelona 1929

Industry, art and sport

May 20, 1929 - January 15, 1930


Back - List of Pavilions

General presentation of the Spanish Village

manque image

The Spanish Village (Pueblo Español) is an interesting complement to the demonstration of ancient art. It is a group of typical buildings and picturesque displays that show various aspects of rural life from different periods and regions of Spain; with their costumes, customs and curious specimens of handicrafts and popular art.

The "Spanish village" covers an area of 20,000 square metres.

During the study of the project, various architectural elements were identified in the old towns of Spain which could be combined to create an atmosphere, a historical reconstruction; it was considered that this typical Spanish village should be essentially rural in appearance to highlight the humility, the calm and hardworking life of our farmers and rural towns.

The village is surrounded by an enclosure that has preserved some of its ancient walls and through the entrance gate, which reproduces the famous gate of San Vicente, which exists in the city of Avila, one enters a typically Castilian square, which communicates with the main street, indispensable in all traditional Spanish villages, and in which there are shops for the sale of national products and objects characteristic of the industries of the country.

The "Spanish village" also includes Calle Real and the Plaza del Mercado Viejo, where workshops for different crafts and popular art are held; the street of the Monjas, the Muralla, the Mercaderes, the Plaza Mayor with its arcades, the Iglesia, with names that evoke the traditions of most of the peoples of Spain, the Town Hall, inspired by the one in Valderrobles, in the province of Teruel, the Benedictine abbey and the convent of Romanesque architecture, the Baluarte, so called because it used to be a fortification, the Meson de Santillana, which hosts demonstrations of regional dances and serves Spanish cuisine, the Cinco Puertas café, etc., etc.

In the "Spanish village", which in itself is one of the most attractive attractions, there are numerous shows, festivals, jousting competitions, rural bands, popular music, military and civilian choirs, traditional celebrations of the different regions, festivals, costume parades in honour of Spanish women, historical parades, and sporting and rustic events. Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Présentation générale du Village Espagnol



Le village espagnol (Pueblo Español) est un intéressant complément à la démonstration d'art antique, il s'agit d'un ensemble de bâtiments typiques et d'exhibitions pittoresques qui affichent divers aspects de la vie rurale des différentes époques et régions d'Espagne; avec leurs costumes, leurs coutumes et de curieux spécimens de l'artisanat et de l'art populaire.

Le "village espagnol" s'étend sur un superficie de 20.000 mètres carrés.

Lors de l'étude du projet, ont été repérés dans les vieilles villes d'Espagne les divers éléments architecturaux qui pouvaient se combiner pour créer un ambiance, une reconstitution historique; il a été considéré que ce village typiquement espagnol devait être d'un aspect essentiellement rural pour mettre en évidence l'humilité, la vie calme et laborieuse de nos agriculteurs et de nos villes rurales.

Le village est inscrit dans une enceinte qui a conservé certains de ses anciens remparts et par la porte d'entrée, qui reproduit celle célèbre de San Vicente, qui existe dans la ville d'Avila, on entre dans une place typiquement Castillane, qui communique avec la rue principale, indispensable dans tous les villages espagnols traditionnels, et dans laquelle on trouve des commerces pour la vente de produits nationaux et d'objets caractéristiques des industries du pays.

On trouve aussi bien dans le «village espagnol»la rue Real et la place du Mercado Viejo, qui ouvrent les ateliers de différents métiers et l'art populaire; la rue des Monjas, de la Muralla, de Mercaderes, la Plaza Mayor aux arcades, de la Iglesia, aux noms évocateurs et des traditions de la plupart des peuples de l'Espagne, l'Hôtel de Ville, inspiré dans celui de Valderrobles, dans la province de Teruel, l'abbaye bénédictine et le couvent d'architecture romane, le Baluarte, ainsi nommé pour avoir été des anciennes fortifications, la Meson de Santillana, qui habrite des démonstrations de danses régionales et sert des plats de la cuisine espagnole, le café des Cinco Puertas, etc , etc.

Dans le "village espagnol", qui constitue en soi une des attractions les plus attrayantes sont abrités nombre de spectacles, fêtes, concours de joute, fanfares rurales, musique populaire, des bandes chœurs militaires et civils, fêtes traditionnelles des différentes régions, festivals, défilés de costumes en l'honneur des femmes espagnoles, défilés historiques, et événements sportifs et rustique.