Back - List of Pavilions

National Palace - Expo Barcelona 1929

National Palace at the Exhibition Expo Barcelona 1929
Architect(s) : Enrique Cata et Pedro Cendoya

It was the largest and richest of all the buildings at the Exhibition. Intended to represent "Art in Spain", it had been designed and executed to suit the artistic value of the works that were to be exhibited there.

It had a covered area of 32,000 square metres and a height of 19 metres. It consisted of two floors fitted out as exhibition rooms and basements reserved for the Prehistory Section.

The large festival hall on the upper floor alone measured 5,000 square metres and could hold 20,000 people.

As previously mentioned, this Palace was used to present "Art in Spain (Archaeology and Fine Arts)". This grouping was undoubtedly one of the most important at the Exhibition. It evoked the particular atmosphere of the different periods and reflected the characteristics of Spanish art throughout history by means of collections of authentic objects grouped in museum rooms and some reconstructions of the most remarkable periods of national life.

For this purpose, the heritage of the State, the Church, the Army, public corporations and private individuals was used. Each object was accompanied by an information sheet that described its history and origins, as attested by renowned specialists and experts.

This masterly summary of Spanish history began with the primitive periods and the colonisation of Iberian soil; it then went on to mention the Arab civilisation; the epic of the Reconquest; the most glorious exploits of Castile, Aragon and Catalonia; the Catholic Monarchs; Charles V and his empire; the Golden Age and Neoclassicism; the inauguration of the first Spanish railway; the Romantics and, finally, the revolutionary era of Queen Isabella.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Palais National


Palais National à l'exposition de Barcelone 1929

Architecte(s) : Enrique Cata et Pedro Cendoya

C'était le plus vaste et plus riche de tous les édifices de l'Exposition. Destiné à représenter "L'art en Espagne", il avait été conçu et exécuté pour dignement à la valeur artistique des oeuvres qui devaient y être exposées.

Sa surface couverte était de 32000 mètres carrés, et sa hauteur de 19 mètres. Il se composait de deux étages aménagés en salles d'exposition et de sous-sols réservés aux Section de Préhistoire.

La grande salle des fêtes qui se trouvait à son étage supérieur, mesurait à elle seule 5000 mètres carrés et pouvait contenir 20000 personnes.

Comme dit précédemment ce Palais servait à présenté "L'art en Espagne (Archéologie et Beaux Arts)". Ce groupement ainsi dénommé était sans conteste un des plus importants de l'Exposition. Il évoquait l'ambiance particulière aux différentes époques et reflétait les caractéristiques de l'Art espagnol à travers l'histoire au moyen de collections d'objets authentiques groupés en salles de musée et de quelques reconstitutions des périodes les plus remarquables de la vie nationale.

Pour cela était mis à contribution le patrimoine de l'Etat, de l'Eglise, de l'Armée, des corporations publiques et des particuliers. Chaque objet était accompagné d'une fiche qui faisait connaître son histoire et ses origines, attestées par des spécialistes illustres et par des experts.

Ce magistral résumé de l'histoire espagnole commençait aux époques primitives et aux colonisations du sol ibérique; il évoquait ensuite la civilisation arabe; l'Epopée de la Reconquête; les plus glorieux exploits de la Castille, de l'Aragon et de la Catalogne; les Rois Catholiques; Charles V et son empire; le siècle d'Or et le Néoclassicisme; l'inauguration du premier chemin de fer espagnol; les Romantiques et enfin pour terminer, l'époque révolutionnaire de la Reine Isabelle.