The Great Exhibition of the Works of Industry of All Nations - London 1851

Industry of all Nations

May 1, 1851 - October 11, 1851


Back - List of Pavilions

Products of mining, quarrying, metallurgical operations and mineral products

Products of mining, quarrying, metallurgical operations and mineral products at the Exhibition Expo London 1851

This subdivision includes objects relating to the ordinary operations of mines, such as: opening shafts, cutting land, perforating, drifting, ventilating, illuminating, means of communication between underground regions and the surface, transporting men and materials.
It also includes the metals and instruments that have to do with the action of grinding, roasting, melting, reducing: with the action of tempering iron or making it malleable; of making steel: which also has to do with bronzes, firearms and, moreover, those compositions so well known under the dwarfing of English metal, tin and silver from Germany.

Among the non-metallic mineral products are those which are the most important in terms of quantity and usefulness; those used for heating, such as coal, of which the exhibition offers a wide variety of collections; those used for building, such as stones and slates of all kinds.

Then there are marbles, alabasters, porphyry which are used in the fine arts; building materials, stones, artificial cements, calcareous and hydraulic cements, gypsum, etc...
These classes of mineral materials were completed by a large number of samples of the earths used in the manufacture of porcelain and glass in all their varieties, from the coarsest tiles to the most delicate and best-finished small chinoiseries.

Grande exposition universelle des travaux de l'industrie de toutes les nations - Londres 1851

Industrie de toutes les Nations

1er Mai 1851 - 11 Octobre 1851


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Produits de mine, de carrières, d'opérations métallurgiques et produits minéraux

Produits de mine, de carrières, d'opérations métallurgiques et produits minéraux à l'exposition de Londres 1851

Cette subdivision comprend les objets qui ont rapport aux opérations ordinaires des mines, tels que : ouverture de puits, coupe de terrains, perforation, galerie, ventilation, illuminations, moyens de communication entre les régions souterraines et la surface, transport des hommes et des matériaux.
Elle renferme également les métaux et instruments qui ont rapport à l'action de broyer, de rôtir, de fondre, de réduire : à l'action de tremper le fer où de le rendre malléable; de faire l'acier: ce qui tient aussi aux bronzes, aux armes à feu i de plus encore, ces compositions si connues sous le nain de métal anglais, d'étain et d'argent d'Allemagne.

Parmi les produits minéraux non métalliques ont été classés ceux qui sont les pins importants par leur quantité et leur utilité ; ceux qui servent au chauffage, tels que le charbon de terre, dont l'exposition offre une très grande variété de collections; ceux qui servent à la bâtisse, tels que pierres et ardoises de toute espèces.

Ensuite les marbres, les albâtres, les porphyres qui servent dans les beaux-arts ; les matériaux de construction, les pierres, les ciments artificiels, les ciments calcaires et hydrauliques, le gypse, etc...
Ces classes de matières minérales ont été complétées par un grand nombre d'échantillons des terres qui servent à la fabrication de" la porcelaine et du verre dans toutes leurs variétés, depuis les tuiles les plus grossières jusqu'aux petites chinoiseries les plus délicates et les mieux finies.