The Great Exhibition of the Works of Industry of All Nations - London 1851

Industry of all Nations

May 1, 1851 - October 11, 1851


Back - List of Pavilions

Instruments of Science and Art

manque image

Here we find the instruments used in science and art, in astronomy, music and surgery: telescopes, globes, topographical and hydrographic instruments; those used in mechanics to measure forces and explain the laws of physics; those relating to acoustics, optics, heat, magnetism and electricity; all types of chemical apparatus; and finally, musical instruments, which together form a rich collection in the Crystal Palace.

Another fine collection takes its place here, that of watches, clocks, clocks for churches and steeples, chronometers for astronomers and sailors, instruments to mark changes in temperature, those to mark the movement of the sun and moon and eclipses, etc.

The important instruments, so numerous and so varied, which are used in surgery are classified by type of operation; thus one finds here those which are used for the operations of the oculist, there those which are used by the dentist, etc.; next to them are the microscopes, and finally the apparatus which are used for the sick, the convalescents or the crippled.

Grande exposition universelle des travaux de l'industrie de toutes les nations - Londres 1851

Industrie de toutes les Nations

1er Mai 1851 - 11 Octobre 1851


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Instruments des Sciences et des Arts

manque image

Nous trouvons ici les instruments qui servent dans les sciences et dans les arts, qui servent en astronomie, en musique, en chirurgie : les télescopes, les globes, les instruments de topographie et d'hydrographie ; ceux qui servent en mécanique à mesurer les forces et à expliquer les lois de la physique; ceux qui concernent l'acoustique, l'optique, la chaleur, le magnétisme et l'électricité ; les appareils de chimie dans toutes les variétés, et enfin les instruments de musique qui forment à eux seuls dans le Palais de Cristal une riche collection.

Une autre belle collection prend ici sa place, c'est celle des montres, des pendules, des horloges pour églises et clochers, des chronomètres de l'astronome et du marin, des instruments qui marquent les changements de température, de ceux qui marquent le mouvement' du soleil et de la lune et les éclipses, etc.

Les instruments importants, si nombreux et si variés qui servent en chirurgie sont classés par genres d'opérations ; ainsi l'on trouve ici ceux qui servent aux opérations de l'oculiste, là ceux qui servent au dentiste, etc. ; à côté se trouvent encore les microscopes, et enfin les appareils qui servent pour les malades, les convalescents ou les estropiés.