The Great Exhibition of the Works of Industry of All Nations - London 1851

Industry of all Nations

May 1, 1851 - October 11, 1851


Back - List of Pavilions

Tunis

Tunis at the Exhibition Expo London 1851

Next to two large carpets, of rather mediocre quality, which announce the Tunisian exhibition, one is surprised to see, not African products, but products from Chile and Peru.
The first of these countries has sent fruit, wood and a few samples of its rich and numerous copper and silver ores. The latter is represented by chinchilla furs, some woollen blankets and elegant filigree objects, among which a delightful basket and two charming statuettes of peacocks stand out.

The left side of the aisle really belongs to Tunis, whose name is inscribed at the entrance. A few beautiful carpets, shawls, blankets, embroidered jackets and burnous warn us in favour of Tunisian industry, which shows us, a little further on, products worthy of rivalling those of Turkey: these are magnificent saddles, with high edges, covered with red velvet with gold embroidery, and fitted with gun bottoms also gilded.
pistols also gilded. Nothing is richer than the silk garments, the overcoats, the trousers, the dolmans with brandebourgs, the military burnous, which fill the Tunisian shop windows.
Gold is lavished on all these fabrics in large and elegant embroideries. Not a trace of European influence in all this.

These magnificent fabrics contrast with the common clothes on the walls, and especially with the truly patriarchal products displayed in the second large room in Tunis. There stands a tent of coarse wool, covered with the skins of lions, the primitive habitation of a nomadic and warlike race. There we see objects whose ancient forms and simplicity remind us of the characters of the Old Testament. They are earthenware vases,

jugs with two handles and an elongated shape like the one Rebecca was supposed to use; common metal pottery, calabashes, wineskins, cheesecloth and coarse blankets.

The Tunisian shoes are distinguished by their excessive size; it is clear that they were made for a walking people who were not concerned about being short-footed. The smell they give off is exactly that of Russian leather; they must be prepared in the same way: a singular analogy, given the distance that separates the two countries.

We also notice men's straw hats, which are similar to those of our peasant women in the width of their brims; some samples of common soaps; seeds, candles, and a guitar of a very original shape. All these products have obviously been made on the same model and by the same processes for several centuries. It is the immobility, the status quo of ancient industry, transported, as if in contrast, to the palace of the wonders and progress of modern industry.

© Palais de Cristal – Journal Illustré de L’Exposition de 1851

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Tunis


Tunis à l'exposition de Londres 1851

A côté de deux grands tapis, d'assez médiocre qualité, qui annoncent l'exposition tunisienne, on est étonné d'apercevoir, non pas des produits africains, mais des produits du Chili et du Pérou.
Le premier de ces pays a envoyé des fruits, des bois et quelques échantillons de ses riches et nombreux minerais de cuivre et d'argent. Le second est représenté par des fourrures de chinchilla, quelques couvertures de laine et d'élégants objets en filigrane, parmi lesquels se font particulièrement remarquer une délicieuse corbeille et deux charmantes statuettes représentant des paons.

La gauche de l'allée appartient réellement à Tunis, dont le nom est inscrit à l'entrée. Quelques beaux tapis, des châles, des couvertures, des vestes brodées et des burnous préviennent en faveur de l'industrie tunisienne, qui nous montre, un peu plus loin, des produits dignes de rivaliser avec ceux de la Turquie : ce sont de magnifiques selles, à hauts rebords, recouvertes de velours rouge à broderies d'or, et munies de fontes de
pistolets également dorées. Rien de plus riche que les vêtements de soie, les surtouts, les pantalons, les dolmans à brandebourgs, les burnous militaires, qui remplissent les vitrines tunisiennes.
L'or est prodigué sur tous ces tissus en larges et élégantes broderies. Pas une trace de l'influence européenne dans tout cela.

Ces magnifiques étoffes contrastent avec les habits communs dont les murs sont tapissés, et surtout avec les produits vraiment patriarcaux qui sont étalés dans la seconde grande salle de Tunis. Là se dresse une tente en laine grossière, recouverte de peaux de lions, habitation primitive d'une race nomade et guerrière. Là nous apercevons des objets dont les formes antiques et la simplicité nous font penser aux personnages de l'Ancien Testament. Ce sont des vases en terre,

des cruches à deux anses et de forme allongée comme celle dont Rebecca devait se servir; de la poterie commune en métal, des calebasses, des outres, des tissus en étamine et des couvertures grossières.

Les chaussures tunisiennes se distinguent par leur ampleur excessive ; on voit qu'elles sont destinées à un peuple de marcheurs peu soucieux de faire le petit pied. L'odeur qu'elles exhalent est exactement celle du cuir de Russie ; elles doivent être préparées de la même manière : singulière analogie, eu égard à la distance qui sépare les deux pays.

On remarque encore des chapeaux de paille pour hommes , qui se rapprochent de ceux de nos paysannes par la largeur de leurs bords; quelques échantillons de savons communs ; des graines, des bougies, et une guitare d'une forme très-originale. Tous ces produits se fabriquent évidemment sur le même modèle et par les mêmes procédés depuis plusieurs siècles. C'est l'immobilité, le statu quo de l'industrie antique, transporté, comme pour faire contraste, dans le palais des merveilles et des progrès de l'industrie moderne.

© Palais de Cristal – Journal Illustré de L’Exposition de 1851