World Fair of Paris 1889

Centenary of the French Revolution

May 6, 1889 - October 31, 1889


Back - List of Pavilions

Panorama Transatlantic Company

Panorama Transatlantic Company at the Exhibition Paris 1889

Architect(s) : Pereire, Poilpot

No sooner do you enter the panorama of the Champ de Mars than you are suddenly transported to the heart of a ship. Dark and narrow corridors, lit from left to right by portholes, represent, with a certain fidelity, the cursives of a ship. A smell of tar, spread everywhere, completes the local colour; I should say: local smell. We pass through the travellers' cabins, fitted out with great luxury. A small staircase comes into view. You climb it and suddenly you find yourself transported to the dock of a huge liner, the Touraine, as it will be later. In reality, the Touraine still rests on the holds of the construction site. This little subterfuge, by putting the spectator on a non-existent liner, has the advantage of letting him see the whole existing fleet.

On this deck, the rigging is hanging, the ropes are winding on the floor, the helmsman is operating the steering wheel, the compass needle is shaking in the cockpit, the captain, leaning over the rail, is giving the last orders. The ship is on its way. Passengers from the bow and stern crowd the deck, taking a last look at the land of France which, in a few minutes, will gradually fade into the distance and disappear completely under the sea horizon. Along the embankments of Touraine the sea laps, shimmers, sparkles. Sailing yachts, to see it more closely, tack and sail in its waters, with the whirling of great white-winged sea birds. Light yachts, carrying late passengers, return to the port, full of smoke, their bows white with foam, leaving behind them a deep wake, whose undulations moiré the surface of the water.

We too, curious visitors, are going to leave. At least, the impression is given. And what a departure! The sun's rays sparkle as far as the eye can see, drowning in their golden waves the immense horizon of the mouth of the Seine, which forms the harbour of Le Havre, whose white houses are spread out on the sides of the hill. Over there, the sharp edge of the Pointe de la Hève; here, the receding hills that border the Seine; on this side, the green and dark hillsides of Ronfleur and Trouville; on that other side, the endless horizon hiding the English coast. In this gigantic setting, the calm, peaceful sea, the sea of multiple tones, and, on it, proud of their strength and their majesty, all the liners of the Company, strutting, attending the departure of the youngest brother. This is Gascony, this is Champagne, this is Normandy, this is Brittany. In the luminous atmosphere that surrounds them, one sees their particular signs, their own individuality. Those who know them cannot make a mistake and put on this one the name of that one.

Once the tour of the poop deck is over, we go back down to the steerage. A new spectacle awaits us there. Instead of cabins lined up along the curves, there are dioramas, i.e. large paintings on large canvases which, instead of being circular like those of the panorama, are stretched on a vertical plane. The lighting, skilfully arranged, varies the general and local tones in such a way as to produce, either on a few points or on the whole picture, all the natural or artificial lighting effects.

The Transatlantic dioramas each represent a distinct part of the ship: the lounge, the dining room, the smoking room, the cabins of the different classes, the embarkation, etc., etc. Others show different ports more particularly frequented by the Company's liners. It is Marseille with its old walls reddened at the top by the fires of the setting sun, tarnished at the bottom by the waves of the Mediterranean; it is Algiers with its tiers of white houses, bursting into the dark greenery of exotic plants; it is New York with the grandiose and luminous panorama of its harbour.

© L'Exposition Universelle de 1889 - Louis Rousselet - 1890

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Panorama Compagnie Transatlantique


Panorama Compagnie Transatlantique à l'exposition de Paris 1889

Architecte(s) : Pereire, Poilpot

A peine entre-t-on dans le panorama du Champ de Mars, qu'on se trouve tout à coup transporté en plein cœur d'un navire. Des couloirs sombres et étroits, éclairés de gauche et de droite par des hublots, représentent, avec une certaine fidélité, les cursives d'un vaisseau. Une odeur de goudron, répandue un peu partout, vient compléter la couleur locale; je devrais dire : odeur locale. On traverse des cabines de voyageurs, aménagées avec un grand luxe. Un petit escalier s'offre à la vue. On le gravit et soudain l'on se trouve transporté sur la dunette d'un immense paquebot, la Touraine, tel qu'il sera plus tard. En réalité, la Touraine repose encore sur les cales du chantier de construction. Ce petit subterfuge, en mettant le spectateur sur un paquebot n'existant pas, a l'avantage de lui laisser voir toute la flotte existante.

Sur cette dunette, des agrès pendent, des cordages s'enroulent sur le plancher, le timonier actionne la roue du gouvernail, l'aiguille de la boussole tremble dans les habitacles, le capitaine, penché sur la rampe, donne les derniers ordres. Le navire est en partance. Passagers de l'avant, passagers de l'arrière se pressent en foule sur le pont, jetant un dernier regard sur cette terre de France qui, dans quelques minutes, va se dégrader peu à peu dans les lointains et s'évanouir tout à fait sous l'horizon marin. Le long des bossoirs de la Touraine la mer clapote, miroite, scintille. Des yachts à voile, pour la voir de plus près, virent et louvoient dans ses eaux, avec des tournoiements de grands oiseaux de mer aux ailes blanches. De légers youyous, porteurs de passagers retardataires, retournent vers le port, empanachés de fumée, l'étrave blanche d'écume, laissant derrière eux un sillage profond, dont les ondulations moirent la surface des eaux.

Nous aussi, visiteur curieux, nous allons partir. L'impression du moins nous en est donnée. Et quel départ! Les rayons du soleil étincellent à perte de vue, noyant dans leurs ondes dorées l'immense horizon de l'embouchure de la Seine, qui forme la rade du Havre dont les maisons blanches s'étagent aux flancs de la colline. Là-bas, la brusque arête de la pointe de la Hève; ici, les collines fuyantes qui bordent la Seine; de ce côté, les coteaux verdoyants et sombres de Ronfleur et de Trouville; de cet autre, l'horizon sans fin cachant les côtes anglaises. Dans ce cadre gigantesque, la mer calme, paisible, la mer aux tonalités multiples, et, sur elle, fiers de leur force et de leur majesté, tous les paquebots de la Compagnie, pavoises, assistant au départ du frère le plus jeune. C'est la Gascogne, c'est la Champagne, c'est la Normandie, c'est la Bretagne. Dans l'atmosphère lumineuse qui les entoure, on aperçoit leurs signes particulier leur individualité propre. Ceux qui les connaissent ne peuvent se tromper et mettre sur celui-ci le nom de celui-là.

Le tour de la dunette terminé, on redescend dans l'entrepont. Un nouveau spectacle nous y attend. Au lieu de cabines alignées le long des cursives, ce sont des dioramas, c'est-à-dire de grands tableaux peints sur toiles de grande dimension et qui, au lieu d'être circulaires comme celles du panorama, sont tendues sur un plan vertical. L'éclairage, habilement disposé, varie les tons généraux et les tons locaux de façon à produire, soit sur quelques points, soit sur le tableau entier, tous les effets lumineux naturels ou factices.

Les dioramas des Transatlantiques représentent chacun une partie distincte du navire : le salon, la salle à manger, le fumoir, les cabines des différentes classes, l'embarquement, etc., etc. D'autres montrent différents ports plus particulièrement fréquentés par les paquebots de la Compagnie». C'est Marseille avec ses vieilles murailles rougies au sommet par les feux du soleil couchant, ternies au pied par les flots de la Méditerranée; c'est Alger avec ses étagements de maisons blanches, éclatant dans la verdure sombre des plantes exotiques; c'est New-York avec le panorama grandiose et lumineux de sa rade.

© L'Exposition Universelle de 1889 - Louis Rousselet - 1890