World and International Exhibition Montreal 1967 - Expo67

Man and his Universe

April 28, 1967 - October 29, 1967


Back - List of Pavilions

Ethiopia

Ethiopia at the Exhibition Montreal 1967

© expo67

Architect(s) : Jacques Benoit-Barnet

For the first time, Ethiopia participated in a world exhibition. The pavilion is in the form of a huge tent with 690 metres of purple cloth, reminiscent of the ritual parasols of the Aksum priests. The circular base of the tent, made of glass and plastic, is held up by twelve gilded metal lion heads.

The top is topped by a lion, also gilded, which proudly carries the green, yellow and red flag of Ethiopia; this is the "Lion of Judah", which is one of the imperial titles. This lion and flag move in the direction of the movements of the sun.

Four obelisks from the ancient city of Aksum frame the entrance to the pavilion. The building is entered by the staircase of lions, each representing a province of the Ethiopian Empire.

Art objects from the prehistoric site of Melke Kontoure are displayed alongside the remains of the Aksum Empire. There are also reproductions of frescoes from the Dire Dawa caves, works by renowned modern artists and Ethiopian crown jewels.

Handicrafts are represented by filigree gold and silver objects, while the rational exploitation of natural resources is illustrated by pictorial elements.

On the ground floor, there is a miniature replica of St. George's Church. On the mezzanine, a restaurant with tables and chairs under authentic Aumite umbrellas, encourages the tasting of Ethiopian coffee in specially designed cups made by skilled Ethiopian craftsmen.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Ethiopie


Ethiopie à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

© expo67
Architecte(s) : Jacques Benoit-Barnet

Pour la première fois, l'Ethiopie participe à une exposition universelle. Son pavillon affecte la forme d'une immense tente, pour laquelle on a utilisé 690 mètres de toile de couleur pourpre, rappelant les ombrelles rituelles des prêtres d'Axoum. La base circulaire de la tente, en verre et en plastique, est retenue par douze têtes de lion en métal doré.

Le sommet est surmonté d'un lion, également doré, qui porte fièrement le drapeau vert, jaune et rouge de l'Ethiopie; c'est le "Lion de Judas", qui constitue un des titres impériaux. Ce lion et ce drapeau se déplacent dans le sens que leur impriment les mouvements du soleil.

Quatre obélisques, provenant de l'antique ville d'Axoum, encadrent l'entrée du pavillon. On pénètre dans le bâtiment par l'escalier des lions dont chacun représente une province de l'Empire éthiopien.

Des objets d'art, originaires du lieu préhistorique de Melke Kontoure, voisinent avec les vestiges de l'Empire axoumite. On peut admirer également des reproductions des fresques des grottes de Dire Dawa, des oeuvres d'artistes modernes de renom et des joyaux de la Couronne éthiopienne.

L'artisanat est représenté par des objets d'or et d'argent filigranes, alors que l'exploitation rationnelle des richesses naturelles est illustrée par des éléments picturaux.

Au rez-de-chaussée, se trouve une réplique miniature de l'église Saint-Georges . A la mezzanine, un restaurant, ou sont disposées des tables et des chaises sous d'authentiques parasols axoumites, favorise la dégustation du café éthiopien, dans des tasses spécialement conçues et réalisées par d'habiles artisans éthiopiens.

© Expo67 - Rapport Général