International Exhibition of Arts and Techniques in Modern Life in Paris 1937

Arts and techniques applied to modern life

May 25, 1937 - November 25, 1937


Back - List of Pavilions

Gardens and Fountains of Trocadero

Gardens and Fountains of Trocadero at the Exhibition Paris 1937

© La Photolith

Architect(s) : MM. Expert, Thiers et Maître

THE FOUNTAINS

The new fountains (designed by Messrs Expert, Thiers and Maître, the government's chief architects) which run from the entrance to the new theatre to the Avenue de Tokio represent a total excavation of 80,000 cubic metres.

As with the previous ones, these earthworks were completed, despite the difficulties encountered, about ten days ahead of schedule.

It is fair to note that this important work was entrusted to a large French firm which, on many other very delicate occasions, was able to provide abundant proof of great mastery of execution combined with two other very valuable qualities: the extreme concern it takes for the safety of its workers and its point of honour of always being punctual.

This is the Billiard company, 39, rue Washington in Paris

Copyright L'Illustration 1937

From the steps of the terrace, you have already contemplated the enchanting spectacle offered by the marvellous fountains of the Trocadero Gardens, without doubt the most beautiful in Europe.

The layout of the land dictated this play of successive water mirrors designed to make up for the difference in level between the first steps and the Pont d'Iéna.

Visibility has been studied in all its aspects so that the walker can enjoy the whole composition from any point.

Take a moment to consider it. You will notice that it has two main levels: the lower level is made up of a canal running from one end to the other and measuring 110 metres long and 20 metres wide, set in hard stone and lined with carved yew trees, and the upper level is made up of superimposed basins and basins.

The total surface area of these fountains is 25,300 square metres. The parabolic jet that springs from the central niche has a 45-metre span in several layers. It is accompanied by vertical and inclined sprays, distributed along the entire length of the canal, while secondary sprays join the basins and basins in the upper part. The general flow rate is 2,500 litres per second and the power of the engine room is 1,500 Kw.

The architects who realized this masterpiece of water effects that you could not come back to admire in the evening illuminated by a fluorescent lighting, are MM. Thiers, P. Maitre and R. H. Expert.

The Trocadero Gardens, which extend their foliage on both sides of these fountains, were reserved for the foreign Sections that you could still find on both banks of the Seine near the Pont d'Iéna and at the Champ de Mars.

The Exhibition had grouped them in this way to give them a place of honour in the main axis of the general plan.

Many of these pavilions had a restaurant, café, tea or bar serving national food or drinks. Many also hosted film screenings, lectures, music or dance performances, etc. At the end of each description, a summary note provided all these indications.

Copyright By Société pour le Développement du Tourisme

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Jardins et Fontaines du Trocadéro


Jardins et Fontaines du Trocadéro à l'exposition de Paris 1937

© La Photolith
Architecte(s) : MM. Expert, Thiers et Maître

LES FONTAINES

Les nouvelles fontaines (dont la conception est due à MM. Expert, Thiers et Maître, architectes en chef du gouvernement) qui vont de l'entrée du nouveau théâtre jusqu'à l'avenue de Tokio représentent une excavation totale de 80.000 mètres cubes.

Comme pour les précédents, ces terrassements furent terminés, malgré les difficultés rencontrées, avec une dizaine de jours d'avance sur les délais prévus.

Il est juste de noter que ces importants travaux furent confiés à une grande firme française qui, en bien d'autres occasions fort délicates, put fournir les preuves surabondantes d'une grande maîtrise d'exécution jointe à deux autres qualités fort précieuses : l'extrême souci qu'elle prend de la sécurité de ses ouvriers et son point d'honneur d'être toujours ponctuelle.

Il s'agit des entreprises Billiard, 39, rue Washington à Paris

Copyright L'Illustration 1937

Du perron de la terrasse, vous avez contemplé déjà tout à l'heure le féerique spectacle que vous offrent les merveilleuses fontaines des Jardins du Trocadéro, sans doute les plus belles de l'Europe.

C'est la disposition du terrain qui a dicté ce jeu de miroirs d'eau successifs destiné à racheter la différence de niveau entre les premiers emmarchements et le Pont d'Iéna.

La visibilité a été étudiée sous tous ses aspects pour que le promeneur puisse jouir, de n'importe quel point, de l'ensemble de la composition.

Attardez-vous à la considérer. Vous observerez qu'elle comporte deux plans principaux : le plan inférieur constitué par un canal se présentant de; bout et mesurant 110 mètres de longueur sur 20 de largeur, serti de pierre dure, jalonné d'ifs taillés, et le plan supérieur formé de bassins et de vasques superposés.

La superficie totale de ces fontaines est de 25.300 mètres carrés. Le jet parabolique qui jaillit de la niche centrale a 45 mètres de portée en plusieurs nappes. Il est accompagné de gerbes verticales et inclinées, réparties sur toute la longueur du canal tandis que des jets secondaires réunissent les vasques et bassins de la partie supérieure. Le débit général est de 2.500 litres par seconde et la puissance de la chambre des machines de 1.500 Kw.

Les architectes qui ont réalisé ce chef-d'œuvre d'effets d'eau que vous ne pouviez revenir admirer le soir illuminé par un éclairage à fluorescence, sont MM. Thiers, P. Maitre et R. H. Expert.

Les Jardins du Trocadéro qui étendent leurs frondaisons des deux côtés de ces fontaines, ont été réservés aux Sections étrangères que vous retrouviez encore sur les deux rives de la Seine aux abords du Pont d'Iéna et au Champ de Mars.

L'Exposition les avait groupées ainsi pour leur donner une place d'honneur dans le grand axe du plan général.

Beaucoup de ces pavillons comportaient un restaurant, un café, un thé ou un bar qui servaient des mets nationaux ou des boissons nationales. Beaucoup donnaient aussi des séances cinématographiques, des conférences, des spectacles de musique ou de danse, etc.. A la fin de chaque description, une note sommaire fournissait toutes ces indications.

Copyright By Société pour le Développement du Tourisme