International Exhibition of Arts and Techniques in Modern Life in Paris 1937

Arts and techniques applied to modern life

May 25, 1937 - November 25, 1937


Back - List of Pavilions

Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania

Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania at the Exhibition Paris 1937

© H. Baranger

Architect(s) : Nurmberg, Rotter

The Estonian, Latvian and Lithuanian pavilion, which visitors entered through one of its three doors, each topped by one of the emblems of the three Baltic States, symbolised friendship, union and solidarity through the monument placed in a single hall.

The three rooms that opened up to it were decorated in the national colours of each of the three countries.

Between the silver walls of the Estonian hall, dotted with black and blue details, were presented, between three high sculptures, carpets, ceramics, fabrics and paintings, as well as a demonstration of the coal shale that played such a large role in the country's economy.

In the Latvian room, with its beautiful red parquet floor and white walls, decorated with an equestrian statue of the President of the Republic, Mr. Karlis Ulmanis, the panel in grisaille that drew the visitor's attention was about the development of the Latvian people in recent years.

In this room there was oak furniture, a national-style carpet of flowers and greenery, various specimens of decorative and folk art, and information about spas and beautiful sandy beaches.

In the centre of the Lithuanian hall, a Christ carved from an oak tree was inspired by the style of the countless crosses and figures lining all the roads in the country.

The carpenters from Kaunas had made the inlaid parquet floor so characteristically Lithuanian. Canvases and two large display cases with interesting art objects completed the exhibition, which was dominated by the bust of the President of the Republic, Mr. A. Smetona.

Copyright By Société pour le Développement du Tourisme

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Estonie, Lettonie et Lituanie


Estonie, Lettonie et Lituanie à l'exposition de Paris 1937

© H. Baranger
Architecte(s) : Nurmberg, Rotter

Le pavillon de l'Estonie, de la Lettonie et de la Lituanie dans lequel les visiteurs pénétrait par l'une de ses trois portes surmontées chacune d'un des emblèmes des trois Etats de la Baltique, symbolisait l'amitié, l'union et la solidarité par le monument placé dans un hall unique.

Les trois salles qui s'y ouvraient, étaient décorées aux couleurs nationales de chacun des trois pays.

Entre les murs argentés, piquetés de détails noir et bleus, de la salle estonienne, étaient présentés entre trois hautes sculptures, des tapis, des céramiques, des tissus et des tableaux et ainsi qu'une démonstration de ce schiste houiller qui jouait un si grand rôle dans l'économie du pays.

Dans la salle lettone, au magnifique parquet rouge et aux murs blancs, ornée d'une statue équestre du Président de la République, M. Karlis Ulmanis, le panneau en grisaille qui attirait l'attention du visiteur, avait pour thème le développement du peuple letton au cours de ces dernières années.

Dans cette salle se trouvait des meubles en chêne, un tapis de fleurs et de verdure, de style national, divers spécimens de l'art décoratif et de l'art populaire et des indications sur les stations thermales et les belles plages de sable.

Au centre de la salle lithuanienne, un Christ taillé dans un chêne s'inspirait du style des innombrables croix et figures bordant toutes les routes du pays.

Les menuisiers de Kaunas avaient exécuté le parquet en marqueterie si caractéristiquement lituanien. Des toiles, deux grandes vitrines renfermant d'intéressants objets d'art complétaient l'ensemble de l'exposition dominée par le buste du Président de la République, M. A. Smetona.

Copyright By Société pour le Développement du Tourisme