Back - List of Pavilions

Algeria -

Algeria at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1937
© H. Chipault
Architect(s) : Guiauchain

It formed a homogeneous whole although it was actually made up of three distinct parts: the 18th century barbarian palace with its large arcaded courtyard, the courtyard of a caravanserai, and an Arab town alleyway that ran around the face of the palace.

This courtyard, which you entered first, was enlivened by a water fountain falling into an onyx basin and turned out to be a reproduction of the courtyard of the Archbishopric of Algiers.

Then under the arcades were the stalls of the craftsmen exercising their trade.

All these various small works were in honour in Algeria where the natives embroidered, spun, wove, turned pottery according to the Kabyle fashion, worked with copper and wicker, chiselled delicate and openwork jewels. Even in the southernmost territories, in the M'zab for example, the art of jewellery making was practised, while the White Sisters and White Fathers devotedly taught carpet and leather making.

Through a gate, an exact reconstruction of the Bab-Azoun Gate, flanked by two posts of janissaries in the costumes of the time, you now entered the courtyard of the caravanserai. Three tents were erected there, that of a nomadic chief, that of a Targui and that of an esparto weaver, which you could see at work while the short-woollen sheep from the south were waving and bleating in the vicinity, and the barbed mehara were stretching their inflexible necks.

It was all the bustle of an Algerian stopover. This hustle and bustle continued in the alleyway lined with flying stalls offering to your eyes the range of fruits, early fruits and all the edibles, produced only in Algeria.

The restaurant overlooked both the caravanserai courtyard and the Seine. On certain days, in a special room, conferences and documentary films were held.

Copyright By Société pour le Développement du Tourisme

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Algérie


Algérie à l'exposition de Paris 1937

© H. Chipault
Architecte(s) : Guiauchain

Il formait un tout homogène bien qu'il se composait en réalité de trois parties distinctes: le palais barbaresque du XVIIIe siècle avec sa grande cour à arcades, la cour d'un caravansérail, une ruelle de ville arabe qui contournait la face du palais.

Cette cour, dans laquelle vous pénétriez en premier était égayée par un jet d'eau retombant dans une vasque d'onyx et s'avérait être la reproduction de la cour de l'Archevêché d'Alger.

Puis sous les arcades se trouvaient les échoppes des artisans y exerçant leur métier.

Tous ces petits travaux divers étaient en honneur en Algérie où les indigènes brodaient, filaient, tissaient, tournaient de la poterie suivant la mode kabyle, travaillaient le cuivre et l'osier, ciselaient des bijoux délicats et ajourés. Même dans les territoires les plus au sud, dans le M'zab par exemple, l'art du bijoutier était pratiqué, tandis qu'avec dévouement les Soeurs blanches et les Pères blancs enseignaient la fabrication des tapis et des cuirs.

Par une porte, reconstitution exacte de la Porte de Bab-Azoun, flanquée de deux postes de janissaires en costumes de l'époque, vous pénétriez maintenant dans la cour du caravansérail. Trois tentes y étaient érigées, celle d'un chef nomade, celle d'un targui et celle d'un tisseur d'alfa que vous pouviez voir à l'oeuvre tandis qu'aux alentours s'agitaient et bêlaient les moutons du sud à la laine courte que les méhara baraqués tendaient leur cou inflexible.

C'était tout le grouillement d'un gîte d'étape algérien. Ce grouillement subsistait dans la ruelle bordée d'étalages volants offrant à vos yeux la gamme des fruits, des primeurs et de tous les comestibles, produits uniquement de l'Algérie.

Le restaurant avait vue à la fois sur la cour du caravansérail et sur la Seine. Certains jours, dans une salle spéciale, avaient lieu des conférences et des projections de films documentaires.

Copyright By Société pour le Développement du Tourisme